Italian versionInglés version

Discover Puglia - Tourism and holidays in Italy

  1. Italy
  2. >
  3. Apulia
  4. >
Italian municipalities

Puglia region

Nation: Italy
capital City: Bari
6 provinces
258 Municipality
surface: 19.269,38 sq km
Population: 4.043.128 inhabitants
Density: 209 inhabitants per square km


General Information

Puglia is a region of Southern Italy with Bari capital.
It bordered to the west with the Molise, Campania and Basilicata, to the south with the Ionian Sea and to the east and north with the Adriatic Sea.
It includes the provinces of Bari, Barletta-Andria-Trani, Brindisi, Lecce, Taranto and Foggia.
Its historical name Apulia derives from the population of the Apulian.

Puglia is the easternmost region of Italy: Punta Palascìa (in Otranto, in the Salento), is about 80 km from the coast of Albania and is the point located more to the east of Italy.

Its land is flat for the 53,3%, hilly for the 45,3% and only for the 1,5% mountainous.
The area is then divided between the hilly and flat, although there are individual mountains almost scattered on the Gargano and the Murgia on Daunia.
The hilly landscape embraces the Gargano, the Preappennines Dauno, the Murgia of Bari, Taranto and brindisine.
The remainder is divided between the flat plains in Puglia, the Land of Bari and the Plain of Salento.

Puglia is washed by the Adriatic Sea and the Ionian Sea.
The inland waters are next to slim.
There is no viable except the Ofanto river, although for the short final stretch.
The only drinking water lake, which draws from the Apulian Aqueduct, is Lake Occhito located on the border with Molise.

At the time of the ancient Romans, Puglia included a huge territory extending in a part of the Molise, Campania and Basilicata.

Tourism is well developed thanks to the beautiful beaches of the Gargano, Tremiti Islands and the beauties of Salento.
To underline the architectural uniqueness of the Valle d'Itria and its Trulli, built in the sixteenth century.
Some of the most magnificent cathedrals of Bito, Trani and Bari, and the singular Castel del Monte Andria, the fine baroque architecture of Lecce and Salento.

The region is also rich in sites and remains of ancient peoples who lived in the past: excavations messapici between the provinces of Brindisi and Lecce, permanent exhibitions of artifacts Magna Graecia at the National Archaeological Museum of Taranto or the archaeological excavations and the National Museum of Egnatia.

Among the most special attractions are the caves of Castellana, the wildlife park of animals in greater freedom of Italy in Fasano and the uniqueness of the white town of Ostuni.

Religious tourism is mainly driven by the Shrine of St. Pio of Pietrelcina in San Giovanni Rotondo, while the business is attracted by the importance of the Fiera del Levante in Bari.

The alternates rice and other grains and fodder while the poplar plantations are interspersed with fields.

Puglia Menu

See the main menu of the Apulia, you will find other information, topics and tourist facilities

info Puglia

Puglia - List of Municipalities

To obtain an alphabetical list of Municipalities by initial letter:

Puglia - Provinces

Provinces where the territory of Puglia is currently divided.

Metropolitan city

Some tourist areas


Beach holidays in Puglia
... The coastal municipalities