Italian versionInglés version

Discover Liguria - Tourism and holidays in Italy

  1. Italy
  2. >
  3. Liguria
  4. >
Italian municipalities

Liguria region

Nation: Italy
capital City: Genoa
4 provinces
235 Municipality
surface: 5.398,01 sq km
Population: 1.553.829 inhabitants
Density: 287 inhabitants per square km


General Information

Liguria is an Italian region located in the northwest of the peninsula, and which has as its capital the city of Genoa.
It is bordered to the south by the Ligurian Sea to the west with France (Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur region), north with Piedmont and Emilia-Romagna, east of Tuscany.

Sandwiched between the mountain ranges of the Alps and Apennines and the sea, the region is conventionally considered to be divided into two parts bounded roughly from the capital:

  • Riviera di Ponente
  • East coast

Its name comes from the ancient population of Ligurian, although in reality the boundaries of the ancient Liguria were far more extensive than those of the region and included almost all the Piedmont plain south of the Po, the current southern / western Lombardy, by the green bunting to the confluence of the Ticino into the Po, the current Lunigiana and Nizzardo to the river Var, the current administrative borders, among other things only which stabilized in 1923, rather they tend to coincide with those of the historical Republic of Genoa ( up to 1860 the administrative region of Liguria it included the Province of Nizza Marittima, then transferred to France with the exception of the Sanremo district to Oneglia, became part of the Kingdom of Italy).

Liguria includes large portions of the tax territory of the basin of the Po in the north of the Alpine-Apennine ridge (about 28% of the regional area belongs to the Po basin) and almost all maritime background, the long stretch of coastline between the historical boundaries of the Principality of Monaco (Rio San Luigi at Grimaldi Ventimiglia) and the valley low Magra valley near Sarzana and Aulla (MS): this eastern border appears less clear, however, as only partially coincides with the lower course of the river Magra and It includes part of the coastal plain of Luni.

It should be said that this administrative policy (that is administratively Ligurian all that is located south of the Alpine-Apennine ridge in the stretch Grimaldi-Mortola / Passo del Bracco) are subtracted some marginal areas of the Liguria territory "Physical," which to belong to other regional or state authorities historical and political reasons, is the case of medium and high Val Roya (long dispute between the Republic of Genoa, Duchy of Provence and the Duchy of Savoy and now French administratively, after being Liguria and Piedmont) and the high valleys of the rivers Pennavaire and Neva (with the villages of Alto, Caprauna and Cerisola while remaining in the sphere of economic and commercial influence of Albenga cities have long been controlled by the Duchy of Savoy and then included in the Province of Cuneo.

Liguria is then subtracted much of the historical region of Lunigiana, that despite having absolutely own cultural characteristics and an autonomous history, is the natural hinterland of the city of La Spezia and Sarzana.

Liguria is a region of great tourist attraction for its natural beauty and man-made, among which it is worth mentioning

  • to the west: The Riviera dei Fiori
  • to the east: Portofino, Cinque Terre and Portovenere.

Menu Liguria

See the main menu of the Liguria, you will find other information, topics and tourist facilities

info Liguria

Liguria - List of Municipalities

To obtain an alphabetical list of Municipalities by initial letter:

Liguria - Provinces

Provinces where the territory of Liguria is currently divided.

Metropolitan city

Some tourist areas


Beach holidays in Liguria
... The coastal municipalities