Italian versionInglés version

Discover Basilicata - Tourism and holidays in Italy

  1. Italy
  2. >
  3. Basilicata
  4. >
Italian municipalities

Basilicata region

Nation: Italy
capital City: Power
2 provinces
131 Municipality
surface: 10.025,07 sq km
Population: 568.542 inhabitants
Density: 56 inhabitants per square km


General Information

Basilicata, also called Lucania, is a region of Southern Italy with about 600.000 inhabitants.
It is bordered to the south east by the Ionian Sea (Gulf of Taranto), to the east by Apulia, Campania to the west, south-west by the Tyrrhenian Sea and on the south by Calabria.

The four largest cities are Power (capital of the region and province) and Matera (the provincial capital), Melfi and Policoro city is not the capital but have a great economic importance in the region.
The "historical region" called Lucania also includes a large area currently in Campania (Cilento and Vallo di Diano), but also in Calabria (part of Cosentino) and Puglia (some common Taranto and Foggia).

The territory is mostly mountainous Basilicata (46,8%).
The main reliefs of the Lucanine Apennine are: Serra Dolcedorme (2267 m), Pollen (2248 m), Sirino (2007 m), Papa (2000 m), Volturino (1836 m), Serranet (1472 m).

In the northwestern region of the region there is a volcano off, Mount Vulture.
The hills are the 45,13% of the territory and are of clay, which are subject to erosion that result in landslides.

The plains occupy only the 8% of the territory.
The largest is the plain of Metaponto which occupies the southern part of the region, along the Ionian coast.
The lucane rivers are tormented and are the Bradano, the Basento, the Agri, the Sinni and the Cavone.

Among the lakes, to Monticchio has volcanic origins, while those of Stone Pertusillo, San Giuliano and Monte Cotugno were constructed artificially to produce electricity.
The coasts of the Ionian coast is low and sandy, while those of the Tyrrhenian coast is high and rocky.

The climate is Mediterranean on the coast and on the continental mountain ranges.
Basilicata has a great environmental diversity, it could be divided into different zones in 5; in fact to the north-east there is the Vulture-Melfese area with characteristics of plateaus mostly sown with wheat, while in the Vulture area we alternate woods and vines; north-north-west the Potentino with a prevalence of woods and mountains with an average height of 1200-1500 meters; in the center we have the maternal hill which has a hill and a high hill with a great presence of barren clays and gullies; to the south-west there is the Lagronegrese and Pollino which represents the real Lucanian mountain with heights even higher than 2000 meters and a strong presence of forests and woods; finally to south-south-east we have the Metapontino which is a vast floodplain where intensive industrial farming is practiced and a type of low and sandy coast.

Menu Basilicata

See the main menu of the Basilicata, you will find other information, topics and tourist facilities

info Basilicata

Basilicata - List of Municipalities

To obtain an alphabetical list of Municipalities by initial letter:

Basilicata - Provinces

Provinces where the territory of Basilicata is currently divided.


Some tourist areas


Beach holidays in Basilicata
... The coastal municipalities